A dream of freedom : the civil rights movement from 1954 to 1968 /

In this history of the modern Civil Rights movement, the author focuses on the monumental events that occurred between 1954 (the year of Brown v. the Board of Education) and 1968 (the year that Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. was assassinated). Beginning with an overview of the movement since the end of...

Full description

Saved in:
Main Author: McWhorter, Diane.
Format: Book
Published: New York : Scholastic, ©2004.
Related Information:Publisher description 
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Table of Contents:
  • Brown v. the Board of Education
  • Emmett Till
  • The Montgomery bus boycott
  • Little Rock
  • The sit-ins
  • The Freedom Rides
  • The Albany Movement
  • Ole Miss
  • Birmingham
  • Stand in the schoolhouse door
  • The Second Emancipation proclamation
  • The March on Washington
  • The Birmingham church bombing
  • The beloved community
  • Mississippi Freedom Summer
  • Selma
  • Malcolm X
  • Watts
  • Black Power and the Meredith March
  • Chicago
  • The Black Panthers
  • Memphis.