Norton anthology of western music /

Saved in:
Other Authors: Palisca, Claude V.
Grout, Donald Jay.
Format: Music Score
Published:New York, N.Y. : W.W. Norton, c2001.
Edition:4th ed.
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!

This comprehensive collection of 150 scores illustrates every significant trend and genre of Western classical music from antiquity to modern times. The Fourth Edition contains 20 pieces new to the collection and an increased number of twentieth-century works (American composers newly represented include Amy Cheney Beach, John Adams, and Ellen Taaffe Zwilich). Each numbered selection is either a complete work in itself or an entire movement from a longer original, and each is accompanied by a commentary. All foreign-language texts are accompanied by English translations Book jacket.

Descriptive content provided by Syndetics™, a Bowker service.

Language Notes:Vocal works with English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Latin, or Russian words, also printed as text with English translation.
General Notes:Vocal and instrumental music.
Companion volumes to: A history of western music / Donald J. Grout, Claude V. Palisca. 6th ed. New York : Norton, 2001.
Includes indexes.
Physical Description:2 v. of music ; 26 cm.
ISBN:0393976904 (v. 1)
0393976912 (v. 2)
Author Notes:

Claude V. Palisca, a past president of the American Musicological Society, is professor of music at Yale University. Among his many published books and scholarly editions of music are Baroque Music and Studies in the History of Italian Music

Descriptive content provided by Syndetics™, a Bowker service.