A world I never made /

Saved in:
Main Author: Farrell, James T. 1904-1979.
Format: Book
Published:Urbana : University of Illinois Press, c2007.
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Main Author:Farrell, James T. (James Thomas), 1904-1979.

A sprawling tale of two families' struggles with harsh urban realitiesThe first book in Farrell's five-volume series to be republished by the University of Illinois Press, A World I Never Made introduces three generations from two families, the working-class O'Neills and the lower-middle-class O'Flahertys. The lives of the O'Neills in particular reflect the tragic consequences of poverty, as young Danny O'Neill's parents--unable to sustain their large family--send him to live with his grandmother. Seen here at the age of seven, Danny is fraught with feelings of anxiety and dislocation as he learns the ins and outs of life on the street, confronting for the first time a world he never made.

Descriptive content provided by Syndetics™, a Bowker service.

General Notes:[Originally published: New York : Vanguard Press, 1936].
Physical Description:lviii, 374 p. : map ; 25 cm.
Bibliography:Includes bibliographical references.
ISBN:9780252074233 (pbk. : acid-free paper)
0252074238 (pbk. : acid-free paper)
9780252031731 (acid-free paper)
0252031733 (acid-free paper)
Author Notes:

James T. Farrell was born Chicago, Illinois on February 27, 1904. He attended the University of Chicago, but left before graduating. During his lifetime, he publish more than 50 books, including 28 novels and 16 collections of short stories. He is the author of the Studs Lonigan Trilogy, the Danny O'Neill Pentalogy, The Bernard Carr Trilogy, and The Universe of Time series featuring Eddie Ryan. He died on August 22, 1979.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Descriptive content provided by Syndetics™, a Bowker service.