Pillar of fire : America in the King years, 1963-65 /

In Pillar of Fire, the second volume of his America in the King Years trilogy, Taylor Branch portrays the civil rights era at its zenith. The first volume, Parting the Waters, won the Pulitzer Prize for History. Pillar of Fire covers the far-flung upheavals of the years 1963 to 1965 - Dallas, St. Au...

Full description

Saved in:
Main Author: Branch, Taylor.
Format: Book
Published:New York, NY : Simon & Schuster, ©1998.
Related Information:Contributor biographical information 
Related Information: Publisher description 
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Table of Contents:
  • pt. 1. Birmingham Tides. 1. Islam in Los Angeles. 2. Prophets in Chicago. 3. LBJ in St. Augustine. 4. Gamblers in Law. 5. To Vote in Mississippi: Advance by Retreat. 6. Tremors: L.A. to Selma. 7. Marx in the White House. 8. Summer Freeze. 9. Cavalry: Lowenstein and the Church. 10. Mirrors in Black and White. 11. Against All Enemies. 12. Frontiers on Edge: The Last Month pt. 2. New Worlds Passing. 13. Grief. 14. High Councils. 15. Hattiesburg Freedom Day. 16. Ambush. 17. Spreading Poisons. 18. The Creation of Muhammad Ali. 19. Shaky Pulpits. 20. Mary Peabody Meets the Klan. 21. Wrestling with Legends. 22. Filibusters. 23. Pilgrims and Empty Pitchers. 24. Brushfires pt. 3. Freedom Summer. 25. Jail Marches. 26. Bogue Chitto Swamp. 27. Beachheads. 28. Testing Freedom. 29. The Cow Palace Revolt. 30. King in Mississippi. 31. Riot Politics. 32. Crime, War, and Freedom School. 33. White House Etiquette. 34. A Dog in the Manger: The Atlantic City Compromise. 35. "We see the giants ..." 36. Movements Unbound pt. 4. "Lord, Make Me Pure but Not Yet" 37. Landslide. 38. Nobel Prize. 39. To the Valley: The Downward King. 40. Saigon, Audubon, and Selma.