Glengarry Glen Ross /

Saved in:
Main Author: Mamet, David.
Other Authors: Blansfield, Karen Charmaine.
Format: Book
Published:London : Methuen drama, 2004.
Series:Methuen student editions.
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Main Author:Mamet, David.

'A student edition of Mamet''s Pulitzer Prize-winning play. First staged in Britain in 1983, Glengarry Glen Ross is the tale of four real-estate salesmen in a cut-throat sales competition. It won the Pulitzer Prize in 1984 and was made into a film, starring Al Pacino, Jack Lemmon, Kevin Spacey and Alec Baldwin, in 1992. ''The finest American playwright of his generation'' Sunday Times ''A chillingly funny indictment of a world in which you are what you sell'' Guardian ''Nobody alive writes better American...Here at last, carving characters out of language, is a play with real muscle'' Observer ''David Mamet, screenwriter of The Verdict and The Postman Always Rings Twice, is alongside Sam Shepard and Michael Weller, one of the most distinctive voices on the contemporary American stage Michael Coveney,'' Financial Times'

Descriptive content provided by Syndetics™, a Bowker service.

General Notes:Play.
Physical Description:xlix, 74 p. ; 19 cm.
ISBN:041377418X (pbk.)
9780413774187 (pbk.)
Author Notes:

David Mamet, November 30, 1947 - David Mamet was born on November 30, 1947 in Flossmoor, Illinois. He attended Goddard College in Vermont and the Neighborhood Playhouse School of Theater in New York. He began his career as an actor and a director, but soon turned to playwriting.

He won acclaim in 1976 with three Off-Broadway plays, "The Duck Variations," "Sexual Perversity in Chicago" and "American Buffalo." His work became known for it's strong male characters and the description of the decline of morality in the world. In 1984, Mamet received the Pulitzer Prize in Literature for his play, "Glengarry Glen Ross."

In 1981, before he received the Pulitzer, Mamet tried his hand at screenwriting. he started by adapting "The Postman Always Rings Twice," and then adapting his own "Glengarry Glen Ross" as well as writing "The Untouchables" and Wag the Dog." He also taught at Goddard College, Yale Drama School and New York University.

Mamet won the Jefferson Award in 1974, the Obie Award in 1976 and 1983, the New York Drama Critics Circle Award in 1977 and 1984, the Outer Circle Award in 1978, the Society of West End Theater Award in 1983, The Pulitzer Prize in 1984, The Dramatists Guild Hall-Warriner Award in 1984, and American Academy Award in 1986 and a Tony Award in 1987. He is considered to be one of the greatest artists in his field.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Descriptive content provided by Syndetics™, a Bowker service.