The calligrapher's daughter [a novel] /

In early twentieth century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother, but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition. When her father seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family,...

Full description

Saved in:
Main Author: Kim, Eugenia
Other Authors: Raver, Lorna. (Narrator)
Format: Spoken Word Recording Audio CD
Language:English
Published:[Old Saybrook, CT] : Tantor Audio, p2009.
Edition:Unabridged.
Subjects:
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Main Author:Kim, Eugenia (Eugenia SunHee)
Summary:In early twentieth century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother, but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition. When her father seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king's court as a companion to a young princess.

In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother--but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king's court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end.

In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face? Spanning thirty years, The Calligrapher's Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom.

Descriptive content provided by Syndetics™, a Bowker service.

General Notes:Compact disc.
Duration: 16:30:00.
Subtitle from container.
Tracks every 3 minutes.
Physical Description:13 sound discs (16.5 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Performer:Read by Lorna Raver.
Playing Time:16:30:00
ISBN:9781400113545
1400113547
9781400143542
1400143543
Author Notes:

Eugenia Kim has published short stories and essays in journals and anthologies, including Echoes Upon Echoes: New Korean American Writings , and is the author of the novel The Calligrapher's Daughter .
Lorna Raver, an accomplished stage actress, has also guest-starred in many top television series as well as appearing on the big screen. She has been named a Best Voice of the Year by AudioFile magazine and has been nominated for multiple Audie Awards. Lorna has also received numerous AudioFile Earphones Awards for her narrations.

Descriptive content provided by Syndetics™, a Bowker service.